Evan’s commitment

I woke up early today, before the sun had risen over the mountains. As I packed my fishing Imagegear in the Jeep and waited for the light to burn away the darkness, I realized how lucky I was to have such a picturesque backdrop to live, work, and play in.  In this moment, I remembered how much I love these wild places.

These areas are not backcountry wilderness areas; they are within minutes of heavily populated cities and town–places anyone can get too within a short drive.  I’m sure, these places are not much different than the recreation areas near your town or city.

While the sun started to peek over the mountains, I thought about what I can do to make sure these wild places stay wild. Being the newest member of the staff here at Tread Lightly! I want to take the opportunity to commit to all our readers that I will do everything in my power to educate people across our great nation and develop them into outstanding stewards of America’s lands and waterways.

I also want to commit to making Tread Lightly! the nation’s gold-standard of outdoor ethics education programs. For me, Tread Lightly! is a way of life. It’s a lifestyle that means, “I will do my part in protecting our countries great heritage of outdoor recreation by making sure I follow the Tread Principles.”  These five principles are the heart of what it means to be a responsible recreationist and by following these simple guidelines you are sure to protect the wild places that we all hold dear.

While the first rays of sun bounced across the river, I cast my line toward the opposite bank. Near the end of the drift my line went tight and the fight was on. Please take the time this week to think of the reasons why you love the outdoors and make a commitment to protect those places by becoming a member today!

As always remember, Respected Access is Open Access and Tread Lightly!

About treadlightlyoutdoors

Tread Lightly!® is a national nonprofit organization with a mission to promote responsible outdoor recreation through ethics education and stewardship. The organization was launched in 1985 by the US Forest Service and became a nonprofit organization in 1990. Tread Lightly!’s educational message, along with its training and restoration initiatives, are strategically designed to instill an ethic of responsibility in a wide variety of outdoor enthusiasts and the industries that serve them. The program’s goal is to balance the needs of the people who enjoy outdoor recreation with our need to maintain a healthy environment. Tread Lightly!’s core focus is on supporting and encouraging stewardship from those engaged in outdoor recreation on America’s lands and waterways. The organization offers unique programs and services to help remedy growing recreation issues. The federal government officially recognizes the organization as a sole-source service provider of education and training on how to be environmentally and socially responsible while using motorized and mechanized vehicles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

